2023 OHJA Committees

These are the active committees and their current Committee Chairperson. If you would like to get involved and contribute your time and expertise to an OHJA committee, please email us at .

Please use OHJA’s contact page for OHJA business communications with Board and Committee members.

Awards Banquet Chairs:  Joe Regan, Beka Swan, and Akiko Hamada

Planning and coordination of the annual year-end awards banquet, at which OHJA recognizes medal recipients, local system awards, merit and special awards, and more. The event includes a banquet and silent auction fundraiser.

Communications Chairs:  Meg Dunne, Elise Conlee

Ensures communications with membership are timely and accurate. Communications would include updates, announcements, changes to policy and/or rules, and oversight of communication channels, i.e. social media, Facebook, newsletters, media contact.

Education Chairs:  Meg Dunne, Serin von Marenholtz

Planning and coordination of any special educational programs, plus evaluation of educational opportunities that would benefit the membership.

Fundraising & Development Chair: Beka Swan

Strategy and coordination of fundraising activities that will support OHJA’s mission and strengthen its financial outlook.

Information & Technology Chair:  Kathy Hall

Maximizes OHJA’s opportunities for utilizing technology to improve member communications and horse show/points system management.

Junior Board Advisory Chair:  Serin von Marenholtz

Oversight of the Junior Board, including fund-raising for the Junior Equestrian Fund.

Membership Chairs:  Alyssa Marchington and Kathy Hall

Develops strategies for growing OHJA’s membership and member retention; addresses member questions, concerns, and suggestions.

Nominations Chair:  Nicole Bourgeois

Solicits nominations from the general membership and identifies candidates for Board positions that are available annually, as Board members rotate off the Board on a fixed yearly schedule.

Policy & Procedure Chair:  Sam Shahbazi

Addresses inquiries, provides interpretation, and suggests to the Board policy and procedure adjustments or additions. Addresses inquiries regarding application of the OHJA Rules and the USEF Rules.

Points Chair: Kathy Hall

Addresses questions regarding how points are earned and the reporting of points.

Rules Chair: Alyssa Marchington

Scholarship Chair:  Serin von Marenholtz

Coordinates the annual promotion of the OHJA Scholarship, solicits applicants, screens applicants, and presents recipient recommendations to the Board for approval.

Show Oversight Chair:  Elise Conlee

Reviews show applications, determines if the applicant meets the policy requirements, and determines if the show benefits the OHJA brand.

Year End Finals Chairs: Alyssa Marchington and Sam Shahbazi

Planning and coordination of the year-end medal finals and approval of the prize list.

Discipline Representatives

Jumper: Meg Dunne

Hunter: Nicole Bourgeois

Equitation: Alyssa Marchington